Don’t Hate Me for This Side Dish!

This.

Yes that would be a brussels sprout.

I know many of you probably hate these little vegetables and to tell the truth I have never had one.

My mom never made them when I was younger, still doesn’t, and I never even heard of them until a few years ago.

So why do you ask am I giving you a recipe with brussels sprouts? Am I crazy? Yes, but I won’t get into that.

The reason why is because ever since I saw this recipe I have been thinking about them. Wanting to make them. And wanting to like them!  I figured it would also be a great side dish to make for the holiday season!!

I know that most people do not like brussels sprouts because they can be mushy when cooked and when they are large, old, or overcooked, they tend to have an obnoxious, barnyardy flavor that some people are sensitive to whereas others are not. You can minimize this by choosing smaller, fresh-looking sprouts and cooking them just until they are crunchy-tender and bright colored. (Do not use frozen sprouts.)

I found this recipe on How Sweet It Is Blog, which is one of my favorite sites to visit daily and I now want to try these!

Potatoes, Bacon and Brussel Sprouts

From How Sweet It Is Website

serves 2

  • 2 potatoes, chopped
  • 1/4 vidalia onion, chopped
  • 1 slice bacon (or 2ish..)
  • 8-10 brussels sprouts
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

Heat a skillet over medium heat. Chop bacon and add to skillet, frying until brown. Remove bacon bits and let drain on paper towel. Add the onion to the bacon drippings and sprinkle with salt. Caramelize for 2-3 minutes, then add chopped potatoes. Saute for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Chop brussels sprouts in half and add to the pan, flat side down. Let cook for 5 minutes. Flip brussels sprouts and cook for 5 more minutes.

Add balsamic vinegar and stir. Cook for 2-3 more minutes. Remove from pan and sprinkle with bacon. Season with salt and pepper if needed.

Doesn’t this dish look good? Seriously.

I’m not a huge vegetable fan, I’m really trying to be I promise. But these to me look so good! I’m going to try and make this dish asap.  Also it has potatoes and bacon, both of which I am a fan of.

So I hope some of you try this, even if you hate brussels sprouts!

Also this is what brussels sprouts look like when they are growing.. weird right?

 

Leave a Reply

